Quick Lit: A Flight for Career Change

I didn’t do it on purpose.24968034

I’m the sort of reader who has several books going at once. I’d been on a slump, so I ordered a few based on recent recommendations. Picked one or two off my bookshelf, too.

They all came in at once and I dove in. That’s when I discovered I had accidentally put together a book flight for career change.

  1. The Professor. Charlotte Bronte attempted to publish this slim novel before reaching success with Jane Eyre. A disgruntled Englishman works for his abusive brother before deciding to take his fate in his own hands and move to Brussels, where he becomes an English teacher. For such a slim novel, the author spends a lot of time at the beginning on the psychology of why people stay in bad jobs.
  2. The Undomestic Goddess. Sophie Kinsella’s hilarious take on what happens when a London Biglaw lawyer flips out, runs off into the countryside, and becomes a housekeeper. Pure fantasy about leaving it all, finding your hot gardener, and taking your destiny inย  your own hands after all.
  3. Biglaw. Clearly a debut novel, but with first hand insight into New York biglaw.
  4. Garlic and Sapphires. Memoir about a food critic who moves to New York, finds and loses herself as THE food critic in the NYT. The driving force of this narrative is career change and the many disguises we all wear. (It’s also fabulous as an audiobook.)
  5. Miss Pettigrew Lives for A Day. I hated the movie, but this was a fabulous and refreshingly modern little book about a tired old babies’ nurse who becomes a ladies maid – no, housekeeper – no, friend, and reinvents herself in the process.

I’m on a roll! What other books have you read with themes of career change?

 

4 thoughts on “Quick Lit: A Flight for Career Change

    • everydayhas says:

      It is definitely worth a read!! TBH, after reading it, I want to try the movie again. But I didn’t finish the movie on my first try. ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

