Library Loot: This Book Doesn’t Like That Book

librarylootnew

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by The Captive Reader and Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries

 

This week I had two great pieces of library loot:

The first was Prudence, the first in a new adult series by Gail Carriger. As much as I’ve enjoyed her YA series, they didn’t quite scratch the same itch as the Parasol Protectorate (Changeless, Blameless, etc.) I snatched the  beautiful shiny new purple-and-red book off the hold shelf, and then saw what else was waiting for me.

I also had You Learn by Living (1960) by Eleanor Roosevelt. I picked this up as a recommendation from Modern Mrs. Darcy, when she recommended book flights that go together. I skipped the flight and just went with what interested me from her list. She says: “You Learn by Living is Roosevelt’s memoir/advice manual about living the good life. You’ll appreciate just how hard-won that advice was when you read No Ordinary Time (warning: it’s 800 pages).” So, I put You Learn By Living on hold and skipped the other one.

At the library check-out, the librarian saw these two books and started laughing. Not a quiet little librarian chuckle, either. She actually laughed out loud, then lined the two books up side by side, like this, so that the two ladies were looking at each other:

prudence Eroos

“What do you think SHE [Eleanor] would have thought of HER [Prudence]?” the librarian asked, still laughing.

I answered, “Oh, you might be surprised.”

What did you pick up this week? Did it make your librarian laugh?

6 thoughts on “Library Loot: This Book Doesn’t Like That Book

  1. I loved Carriger’s Parasol series but didn’t enjoy her YA series. I’m on the fence about this one so I’ll wait to hear what you think. Enjoy your loot.

    • everydayhas says:

      I agree, the YA series wasn’t as good. I was ok reading it if I was in the mood for something really fluffy. I think she’s going to keep writing in that series too – sigh. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

