Library Loot: with mini-reviews

librarylootnew

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by The Captive Reader and Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries

My most recent library haul included The Girl on the Train (300+ wishers at my library), Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs (just released!), and Leaving Berlin by Joseph Kanon (also a new one). It’s been a good week!girltrain

The Girl on the Train is a suspenseful mystery with an unreliable alcoholic narrator who is both slightly repulsive and yet a sympathetic character. As her backstory unfolds, we start rooting for her to solve the mystery: not only the surface mystery of what she saw from the train, but the mystery of what happened in her life. The resolution was fast-paced and exciting, as I’d read from other reviewers. I’m just not sure whether alcoholism and depression is really so easily resolved.dhbriggs  leaveberlin

I’m now halfway through Dead Heat, and it’s wonderful. Briggs has managed to change the setting, the characters, and the rules, all while satisfying my need for more Charles and Anna. The couple has traveled to an Arabian horse farm in Scottsdale, Arizona to visit an old Navajo friend that is tied in to local werewolf and witch culture. There is a deep distrust between the Navajo and witches, but (I’m guessing here) they will all have to learn to play nicely together in order to defeat a greater evil.

Finally, I haven’t cracked Leaving Berlin yet, but it’s a post WWII suspense novel. I’m not familiar with the author. I was just looking for something outside my usual. If you’ve read it, please leave a comment!

What did you pick up this week?

10 thoughts on “Library Loot: with mini-reviews

    • everydayhas says:

      It’s worthwhile. As I said below in another comment, though, it’s more of a light suspensful read than an earthshattering work of literature. I think that’s ok – expectations!! 🙂

  1. From the library, I have The Work by Wes Moore and A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler (one of my favorite authors!). Oh, and The Nesting Place book. Sounds like I need to put down the computer and go dig in

    • everydayhas says:

      Oooh… I’m interested in A Spool of Blue Thread just based on the title & cover. Maybe a sewing/crochet thing. Is that bad?

    • everydayhas says:

      oooh, you know what? I dnf’ed it. It was kind of stylized literary suspense with a definite male viewpoint – probably not a bad book, but not for me.

Leave a Reply

