Thursday Quotables: Squirting out of the driveway

quotation-marks4I recently picked up A Killing in the Hills by Julia Keller. Set in West Virginia, this mystery surrounds three murders related to drug violence, highlighting the issues that Appalachia has been facing with painkiller abuse.

I’m a sucker for a rural setting, especially an Appalachian one. And Keller does some interesting things with character conflict and point of view. But I didn’t finish the book. Instead of a review, I’ll provide this quote.

The morning was milky-gray and cold.

Head turned to peer out the back window, right arm stretched across the top of the passenger seat, Bell backed the Explorer out of her driveway. Once in the street, she gave a quick look around to make sure Shelton Avenue was clear — no kids, dogs, cats, squirrels, rabbits, raccoons, or snapping turtles, all of which, at one time or another, she’d had to swerve to avoid when she squirted out of her driveway in a hurry — and then shifted from reverse into drive. All systems go.

In ten minutes she’d be on Route 6, climbing the side of the mountain, which meant accelerating her way into a series of dizzy, lurching turns of legendary peril.

If that sounds okay to you, then you should go pick up this book. If not… look somewhere else. This passage is typical of at least the first eight chapters.

Thursday Quotables is a weekly event hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies!

hills

3 thoughts on “Thursday Quotables: Squirting out of the driveway

  1. Hey, this looks good! I’m also a sucker for Appalachian-set stories. I’ll definitely be looking for this! Oh, and I love the idea of writing about a book simply by including a longish quote. It’s amazing what a clear idea of a book you can get just from a quote.

    • everydayhas says:

      I love that you both read this quote and thought it sounded like a good book! The writing style drove me nuts, and I quit reading because of it… yet as I’m simultaneously reading The Sense of Style, I’m realizing that the style she used really might be okay. Good, even.

      Since I couldn’t appreciate it, I didn’t want to review it, thus the quote. And it worked!

Leave a Reply

