Library Loot: HUGE book haul for Winter

librarylootnew

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by The Captive Reader and Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries

 

This week, I picked up so many books that I brought my husband with me to the library, kind of like my own personal footman. (Ooh… sweetie… are you reading this? Sorry.) I even got a bunch of crochet and knitting books, adding to my project list. I’m snugging in for winter!! Where should I start?

Each image is linked to the Goodreads entry for that book.

vanessa

I loved Parmar’s debut novel, Exit the Actress!

woods

Uh-oh – looks like a college textbook.

sugar

I can’t remember who recommended this one!

snow

New release, with mixed reviews. My turn!

sari

“A tale of women and power in India”

rooms

I have been reading a lot of books about houses lately.

pool

Favorite author – but second checkout for this book.

pioneer

YES! yes yes yes yes yes!

magician

New release! This was a Wishing and Waiting post from Bookshelf Fantasies.

lively

Is it a bad idea to read an author’s memoir before you read any of her books?

lila

Loved Housekeeping, but DNF’ed Gilead. Not sure Lila is a good idea?

liars

This is one of those “must reads” that I don’t have much enthusiasm for.

killer

Because I loved The Wicked Girls.

forget

Because Halloween is all year round.

 

5 thoughts on “Library Loot: HUGE book haul for Winter

  1. So many thoughts! I have We Were Liars on the shelves, yet to read it, but am so curious! I didn’t know there was a new Lauren Oliver! This one looks interesting. I have been looking for a copy of A Spoon Full of Suger since reading Tea by the Nursery Fire (also about a nanny), and the cover for Vanessa and her Sister looks very good as well.

    Enjoy your huge loot! (I cannot seem to go to the library and return with less then 10 books or so. It is a problem..)

    • everydayhas says:

      Thanks!! I am dying to read Tea by the Nursery Fire, but my usually excellent library doesn’t have it. I may just have to order it. I just started Vanessa and Her Sister, and it’s too early to tell. And as for Lauren Oliver, I DNF’ed Delirium, but it was good enough that I was willing to try her again… first books are hard, and plus I’m a moody reader 🙂 I think she has yet another book coming out later in 2015!!

      I think I’m going to start with We Were Liars first.

      • I didn’t much appreciate Delirium by the time I had read other (better) dystopian novels, and I had mixed feelings about Before I Fall which everyone else seems to have loved. But I did pick up one of her books at the library. And I can’t help but feel curious about what she’s written. Weird how that works sometimes, isn’t it? Plus, a book about houses just adds to the appeal.

        I hope you enjoy We Were Liars.

Leave a Reply

