Goodreads Awards

imageI voted in the Goodreads Choice Awards again this year, but the experience left me wondering – what am I really voting for? Even in the first round, I had only read 1-3 books in each category. And I’m not, as in other years, quickly reading some of the nominees before voting.

Does that mean it’s just a popularity contest? Because I’m surely not comparing any of these books, when I’ve only read one in each category in the final round. The only exception is Fantasy, where I’ve read two of the books, and have read 8 of the 10 series in the category.

Here’s what it comes down to: In the below four categories, I can recommend the book I’ve voted for. I can’t tell you for sure that it’s the best book in the category. But it is worth reading. So maybe the process is working, after all.

Readers, are you voting in the Goodreads Choice Awards? Have you read multiple books in a given category?

Best Fiction – Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood
Best Historical Fiction – The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
Best Fantasy – The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness.
Best Memoir РMy Salinger Year  by Joanna Rakoff

2 thoughts on “Goodreads Awards

  1. Good question! I ended up skipping some categories because I hadn’t read any of the books. And like you, I question what my vote really means when I’ve only read one or two of the books in a category. Sure, I thought they were great, but better than the others? Well, how would I know? Still, it’s fun to see which books end up the most popular each year, and at least they restrict you to one vote per category (unlike something like the People’s Choice Awards, where you can vote over and over and over…)

Leave a Reply

