A New Morning Routine

4610115463_9ba329b26d_zThanks to a new, fun medication that has to be taken 30 minutes before breakfast, I found myself wandering the house this morning at 6:15 AM, unsure of what to do with the time between Now and Eating.

That’s hilarious, because my inner controller has a huge running list of things I should be doing in the morning. Here’s just a sample:

  1. Go for a morning run.
  2. Do yoga.
  3. Write a blog post.
  4. Work on your novel.
  5. Start laundry.
  6. Do dishes.
  7. Read books.
  8. Fix hair for work (vs. brush and go)

When you consider that my work day starts at 7:30 AM, that’s a huge list. Even with a 10 minute commute, I’d have to get up at 4 AM to do all that. Maybe earlier.

And then there’s the fact that I just don’t feel good in the mornings. I’m foggy, draggy, irritable, and extremely averse to cold. I want my tea, and I want it right now. No talking.

I’ve struggled for years with my running schedule, especially when training for a half marathon, and have never been able to establish a consistent morning run. I think the underlying truth is: I am not a morning runner because I don’t want to run in the morning. Likewise, I am not a morning writer because it’s just too much talking, too early.

Yet, here I sit, drafting this blog post at 7:00 AM. Here’s what I tried – “just this once” as a favorite yoga teacher likes to say. (It’s never “just this once”.)

I WALKED… for ten minutes… on the treadmill. As a runner, I would normally look down my nose at this as a workout. I told myself that this doesn’t replace my real run, which I’ll do later this afternoon. This one is just a bit of training for morning exercise. I wouldn’t start running 30 minutes per day if I were a couch potato. Maybe I shouldn’t start doing 30 minute outside morning runs without easing into it.

Then, I took a proper morning shower and put actual product in my hair. Usually, I take evening showers and try to minimize the morning grooming routine.

Finally, it was time for breakfast, and I decided to write a blog post while eating. At this moment, I’m eating peanut butter toast with flax meal and honey, and a hot cup of tea. For me, this post has been the writing equivalent of a short treadmill walk.

That’s OK, though – I’m in training.

 photo courtesy Teresa Robinson via Flickr

3 thoughts on “A New Morning Routine

  1. Well, good for you! I am not a morning person, either. I wake up and walk around in a fog until it’s time to work. I have given up on ever being a morning runner and, really, I’ve become fine with that. I’ve found that I’m actually usually more refreshed by a run at 5:30-6:00 in the evening.

    • Byrd says:

      I agree, I think running a really good way to hit the reset button after a long day.

      I definitely did not feel the wonderful burst of energy everyone talks about after my semi-active morning yesterday – lol.

      However, it seems like I can (should) do something productive with this new, food-free 30 minutes that I’ve found in the mornings!

Leave a Reply

