Liebster Award!

One of my favorite book bloggers, A Book and A Quilt, nominated me for a Liebster award! What this means is that I get to answer a series of really  lovely writing prompts.

 

1. What is the first book you remember reading?

I Can Do It Myself. It’s all about the things that Ernie (of Sesame Street fame) can do by himself. The dramatic ending is: I can read this book! I can do it myself! I still love a good ending.

2. What is your favorite genre of reading?

I really love books that bend or break genre boundaries, such as Among Others by Jo Walton, or almost anything by Margaret Atwood.

3. What book character do you think you are most like?

When I really love a book, I’m able to identify with the heroine, but I’m not sure that’s the same as being “most like” her. Laura Ingalls Wilder and Jane Eyre both come to mind, and it’s not a coincidence that the Little House Series and Jane Eyre are two of my all time most favorite books.

4. Are you a part of a book club? How do you feel about book clubs?

I am a member of two book clubs, and even though I don’t always like everything they read, I love the way they push my reading in new directions.

5. The most annoying book I ever read was…

I don’t know about ever, but I just finished Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl and am feeling rather irritated. Despite liking it overall, I was annoyed by (1) the main character and (2) the lack of resolution on some points. I probably owe this book a more detailed review.

6. Did you like reading in school?

I loved to read when I was in school, but ‘English’ class was a neverending disappointment to me. I even made a deal with my 9th grade English teacher: so long as I made A’s on my tests and assignments, I could sit in the back of the room and read anything off her classics shelf and not participate.

7. Where is your favorite place to read?

Outside, in a hammock or Adirondack chair.

Inside, by a fire, with a cup of tea.

In the car on a long road trip.

At my dad’s house, while he reads too.

8. If you could pick one fictional character to be your best friend, who would it be?

It would have to be Laura Ingalls Wilder as portrayed in the Little House books – close to fictional, according to some people. When I read Wendy McClure’s The Wilder Life, I was delighted and also disappointed to find out that I am not the only person who had childhood fantasies of being BFF’s with Laura and introducing her to modern life.

9. Do you read seasonally?

Not at all. I suspect this is a marketing ploy to make people buy more books.

10. Can you listen to music while reading?

Can I? Sure. I can block anything out while I’m reading.

 

Thanks to A Book and a Quilt for the nomination!! Readers, I’d love to hear your answers below, or in your own blog post.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

Leave a Reply

