Library Loot: New Releases

librarylootnew

 

 

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by The Captive Reader and Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries

 

Ooh, I got lots of new releases this week. So happy! 

 

I’ve already read The Invention of Wingsand really enjoyed it. Unlike The Secret Life of Bees, it’s historical fiction. Be sure to read the author’s note at the end when you’re done – it was kind of a fun surprise, and I won’t spoil that for you.

 

Ruin and Rising, on the other hand, concludes one of my favorite in-progress YA fantasy trilogies.

 

Ruin and Rising, combined with this blog post where Deborah Harkness urges her readers to re-read the previous two books in her series before The Book of Life is released, leads me to ask a question:

 

Do you re-read books in a series or trilogy before a new installment is released? Or do you rely on your memory and cues from the writer to pick up where you left off?

2 thoughts on “Library Loot: New Releases

  1. I wish I had time to reread the Harkness books! If it’s a series I care about, I usually will take the time to re-read the previous installment so that the details are fresh in my mind for the new book. I re-read A Discovery of Witches before Shadow of Night was released, and felt that that helped me a lot with enjoying the new book. This time around, it’s just not going to happen. No time!

Leave a Reply

