Library Loot: Fixing Genre Fatigue

librarylootnew Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by The Captive Reader and Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

 

This week’s library loot should fix my “too much fantasy” issue. Or at least balance it out.

djacob goblin hyperbole mistakes vicarage

First, I’ll try excitement. Here’s three new releases that I can’t wait to read. There’s the really obvious one: Midnight Crossroad, by Charlaine Harris. It’s her latest after closing the Sookie saga last fall. And then there’s the odd one, for me: a cozy mystery set in a gluten-free bakery, called Murder Gone A-Rye (everybody groan). I enjoyed the first installment in the series, and since I very rarely read cozies, it should be a nice departure. Finally, The Goblin Emperor, by Katherine Addison, which got a great review by In Bed With Books. Oh, wait… 2 of the 3 books so far are fantasy. Is this really helping?

 

Another way to deal with fantasy fatigue: I’ll read a couple of picks from my book club list. Night by Elie Wiesel, and Defending Jacob by William Landay. Defending Jacob in particular is nothing I would ever read on my own. Nothing against it as a book – it’s just that legal drama has no appeal for me. I figure it will either be a refreshing read, or I’ll really appreciate the rest of my TBR pile when it’s done.

 

I also picked up a couple of nonfiction books. Hyperbole and a Half has been recommended all over the place and had a long waitlist at my usually generous library.  And Mistakes I Made at Work: 25 influential women reflect on what they got out of getting it wrong. 

 

 And finally, when all else fails, we geek out with kidlit:  A Vicarage Family, an autobiographical novel by Noel Streatfeild (the author of Ballet Shoes). Yay. I think I’ll go read that one now.
 

I’m wondering – what do you do when you get tired of your favorite genre?

 

Leave a Reply

