Library Loot: My Hold List Runneth Over

librarylootnew 

 Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by The Captive Reader and Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries

 Today, I officially hit a new PR in library hold list pickups. Besides a few DVDs and a couple of technical/personal nonfiction picks, here’s what I got.

   3tenseshild

Take Three Tenses by Rumer Godden, was originally published in 1945 and reprinted recently. My library, bless them, has a first edition – I scanned it to provide a cover image. I’m reading this one thanks to a recommendation by Jo Walton in her wonderful collection of bibliophilic essays, What Makes This Book So Great. I also picked up Hild, by Nicola Griffith – a nice fat historical set in the Dark Ages. The cover promises “You will never think of them as the Dark Ages again!”

halfbadlionesscrowntmattermagic

I also picked up a big pile of fantasy. Unfortunately, I’m really backed up on fantasy reading – I think I’m getting a little burned out. Lioness Rampant, the fourth book in the Alanna trilogy by Tamora Pierce. The last one was a little slow for me, but I’m still up for #4. A new release: Half Bad, by Sally Green. The Crown Tower, by Michael Sullivan, and A Matter of Magic by Patricia Wrede.

alphaabe2

Last week, I read  (and LOVED) The Sweetest Dark thanks to a recommendation from In Bed With Books.  So I’m eagerly following up with the sequel, The Deepest Night. Review from In Bed With Books here. And finally, just a little nonfiction: The Alpha Woman Meets Her Match by Sonya Rhodes, which promises to explore the relationship dynamics of powerful women.

 

Have you read any of these books yet? Which one should I start with??

 

Leave a Reply

