Library Loot: April 18th

 

 Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by The Captive Reader and Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries

 

 

steelheartsweetdarkwispriley

 

 

 

Death of Riley is a sure thing for comfort reading – or at least as close as you can get to a sure thing in books. Rhys Bowen hasn’t let me down yet. I’ll save this one for a bad day or some time when I’m feeling sick, along with my best chocolate.

 

Wisp of a Thing is the second book in a rural fantasy series by Alex Bledsoe, set in Appalachia. I love the concept – kind of a fairy story about the Appalachian people – and can’t wait to see what he does with the next book.
 
The Sweetest Dark is a recommendation from In Bed With Books.

And Steelheart is just because I loved The Rithmatist.
 

What loot did you bring home this week?

 

7 thoughts on “Library Loot: April 18th

  1. I have not read anything about Rhys Bowen…what book can you recommend that you think is one of his best? Love the cover of The Sweetest Dark…just that I have read too many YA that I actually wanted an out (once in a while) from all YA paranormal…it all seems to get to be insanely the same..The Taste of Darkness comes out as a refreshing take as well as Miss Peregrine’s…but yes, I need another genre to dive in!

    • everydayhas says:

      I’ve read her entire royal spyness series and loved them. The first one is actually called Her Royal Spyness, and you may as well start there. I am not a mystery reader normally, but maybe that’s why I like the series so much… like you said, the ya paranormal thing gets old after a while.

      Royal Spyness is about a distant cousin of the Queen in 1930s England who does some spying to make ends meet. There’s a little romance, too. Overall just light, fun, and consistently good all the way through.

      Now I’ve started on her Molly Murphy series, and Life of Riley is #2. The first one was Murphy’s Law, so if turn of the century NYC is more appealing to you than 1930s Britain, you could start there.

  2. ejmam says:

    I enjoyed Bledsoe’s first Tufae and I hadn’t noticed that the next one was out — I want that too! The other books look like fun as well. I liked the first Royal Spyness book but still have the 2nd on my TBR pile.

    • everydayhas says:

      thanks! Yeah, this is actually the third time I’ve checked it out – once as an ebook, another time on CD, and now as a ‘real’ book. Maybe I’ll actually read it this time…

Leave a Reply

